News Alerts

Calls &/or Emails needed Immediately to the MO House Judiciary Committee, Vote NO on HB 430
4/5/2017 5:38:00 PM by: FHE

4/13/2017, Update: Thank you for your calls, you make a difference

The House Judiciary Committee passed an amendment taking out the compulsory attendance provision in HB 430 which would have raised the compulsory attendance age to 18 years old. The Committee then passed the House Committee Substitute HB 430 with a do pass recommendation which did NOT include compulsory attendance.

FHE has been watching HB 430, Juvenile Court Jurisdiction, sponsored by Representative Shawn Rhoads. There is a provision within this bill to raise the compulsory attendance from 17 years of age to 18 years of age.

HB 430 is scheduled for a vote tomorrow, Thursday, April 6, in the House Judiciary Committee, 9:30am.

FHE is committed to protecting the freedom of Missouri parents to home educate their children by the least restrictive means possible. FHE is opposed to raising the compulsory attendance age. It restricts freedom, imposes unnecessary and burdensome regulations and fails to respect the parent’s rights to direct the upbringing and education of their children. Whatever negligible benefit there may be to increasing the compulsory attendance age is outweighed by the restrictions of freedom and may even be counterproductive to the intent of the bill.

HSLDA is united with FHE in opposing HB 430.

If you agree with FHE and HSLDA on this issue, please call and/or email the House Judiciary Committee members immediately asking them to vote NO on HB 430.

Rep. Joe Don McGaugh, Chair
573-751-1468
JoeDon.McGaugh@house.mo.gov

Rep. Kevin Corlew, Vice Chair
573-751-3618
Kevin.Corlew@house.mo.gov

Rep. Gina Mitten, Ranking Minority Member
573-751-2883
Gina.Mitten@house.mo.gov

Rep. Nathan Beard
573-751-9774
Nathan.Beard@house.mo.gov

Rep. Bruce DeGroot
573-751-1247
Bruce.DeGroot@house.mo.gov

Rep. Mark Ellebracht
573-751-1218
Mark.Ellebracht@house.mo.gov

Rep. David Gregory
573-751-2150 
David.Gregory@house.mo.gov

Rep. Nick Marshall
573-751-6593
Nick.Marshall@house.mo.gov

Rep. Steven Roberts
573-751-1400
Steven.Roberts@house.mo.gov

Rep. Cheri Toalson Reisch
573-751-1169
Cheri.Toalson-Reisch@house.mo.gov

Rep. Bill White
573-751-3791
Bill.White@house.mo.gov

Thank you for standing with FHE to protect home education in Missouri,

Al and Sheryl Schmidt, FHE Executive Directors, for the FHE Board

 


Previous Posts